On Windy Nights

On windy nights I dream of you,
Up on the roof, watching the stars.
They twinkle back at me and shine,
I feel so close; I know I’m far.
No, I’m not really stargazing;
For which is which, I have no clue,
But being here makes things alright.
On windy nights, I dream of you.

It’s your face that I see up there;
Your smile is making me smile too,
Your hair is flying in the wind,
Your eyes are, like the night, deep blue.
I know you’re not thinking of me,
You’re busy doing what you do:
Your hands are making magic again.
On windy nights, I dream of you.

I read a book the other day:
Had dragons, spells and manticores.
‘Twas exciting, to say the least,
Kept making me want to read more.
The story is still in my mind;
The characters, I’ll remember.
There’s no one, though, to tell it to.
On windy nights, I dream of you.

That day, I saw you deep in work,
Conjuring up miracles new.
The red haired boy was with you there,
And I saw he knew magic too.
Now, I don’t know any of that.
What am I then supposed to do,
But read and see from far away?
On windy nights, I dream of you.

I saw a film the other day,
Then another, and one more too.
And soon I was hooked on to them,
And now I think that’s all I do.
My friends, they always say to me,
My voice, it sounds just like Paul.
And so I keep talking like him:
I’m hungry for praise, after all.
After a time, we’re all fed up,
They stop looking at what I do.
Now who will I keep acting for?
On windy nights, I dream of you.

On windy nights I dream of you,
Staring at the sky so blue.
I see a thousand twinkling stars;
All I can really see is you.
You, lighting up the night with sparks,
Sparks from the spells you cast, they flew,
The things you enchanted to fly.
On windy nights, I dream of you.

I don’t look at stars much, but when I do…

Leave a Reply

