Did You Know

Did you know I want to tell you
Of all the things that I like to do?
And I want to keep asking
Stupid, random questions to you.

I want to speak of little things,
I want to speak of the stars, the sky.
Did you know of the place where I live,
Or that my dream is to, one day, fly?

Did you know that I want to know,
What you did today? Oh yes, I do!
Did you go out or stay at home,
And what did you have for food?

I want to know whose side you’re on,
I want to know your favourite song.
I want to know it when you are sad,
And I want to know it when you’re gone.

I want to tell you the things I do,
I want to show my world to you.
I want you to want to know,
What I think when I think of you.

It’s true that all we’ve done is talk,
But in my mind, with you I’ve walked,
With you, I’ve run, with you, I’ve swum,
Together, we’ve had a lot of fun,
With you, I’ve jumped, I’ve hopped, I’ve fallen,
With you, for years, I’ve lived.

Now I don’t know if you want this:
This listening and telling of things.
But did you know that I will still
Be here to talk, and listen, at will?
I want to speak, to laugh, to cry,
I want to talk all day.

I am not actually in this situation right now. But in my mind, I am. 

Leave a Reply

